Welcome Rooms Location Rates & Reservations Packages Activities Reviews Photos    Español Italiano

Reviews and Customer Guestbook

Reviews

A lot of attention has gone into the details of these delightful cabinas, set amid tropical gardens. Painted wood furniture, colorful molas (indigenous tapestries made with layers of colorful cloth cut into patterns depicting local flora and fauna) and other local handicrafts decorate each room, while a private terrace with a woven hammock are just outside. On the practical side, all rooms have access to a communal kitchen. Grab a drink and climb up to a perch in the treehouse for a spectacular view of the sun setting over the Caribbean Sea.

- Lonely Planet Costa Rica.

In the village, the Italian-run Cabinas Guarana is entered by a charming lobby with bar. It has 12 simple but clean and tastefully decorated rooms with colorful sponge-washed walls, fans, tile floors, mosquito nets, and private bath with hot water. Larger cabins have louvered windows and patios with hammocks. They're set in a lush garden with tree house. Guests get use of a kitchen, and there's a laundry and secure parking.

- Moon Handbook Costa Rica.

"Guarana is a work of art!" - I actually subscribed to Tripadvisor just to write this review. I wanted everyone to know of this place in Puerto Viejo. After 2 weeks of traveling around Costa Rica and staying at budget hotels and hostels with just the bare necessities. My husband and I wanted something a little nicer when we arrived in Puerto Viejo. We just stumbled on Cabinas Guarana and it was exactly what we were looking for. It is still very basic but so clean, so airy, and with beautiful art all around. The rooms were full of cool light fixtures and art work (the owner is an interior decorator). You can see the love and energy put into this place. It is just so light and refreshing and kinda a change from alot of the stuffy and decorless rooms we encountered throughout CR. The best part was it was only 35 per night for a private with bathroom and hot water. They also have a kitchen for public use and a really nice sitting room. Almost all the rooms have little decks with hammocks overlooking the tropical courtyard in the centre of the building. It is right downtown Puerto Viejo just blocks from the beach. It was still basic with no TV but just the feel of the whole place was really nice. Don't miss the treehouse either. IT is scary but worth the view and a picture!!

- TripAdvisor Member LoveTravel6 - See all reviews of Cabinas Guarana on Tripadvisor or write your own review

 

Guestbook

What are people saying about us?

Marcelo from Suiza

Nuestra estncia en el Hoetel Guaranâ fue muy buena. El peronal del Hotel es muy amable y nos ayudaron en todo meomento. Las habitaciones son limpias y confortables, además hay un Supermercado y un Banco muy cerda del Hotel. Todo está muy cerca incluso la estación de buses. Seguro volveremos a hospedarnos en el Hotel Guaraná.
Saludos desde Suiza.

April 15, 2020


What are people saying about us?

Sylvia from Austria

Hi Sandro, we wanted to say thank you, gracias, danke, gracie for a very nice staY!Best in whole Costa Rica! Clean, quiet, friendly, moskitonets, safe, hammock, kitchen plus gratis coffee and drinkable tap water. And a super nice Garden with squirrels. Everything was like a guest want to expect it and all that for a fair price! But the best was travelling with Sandro into the cordillera de Talamanca to the tribes of the Bribri, experiencing they life out there, seeing unforgetable nature, rivers and landscapes. He knows a whole lot about the indigenous people there. Just can fully recommend that place! Ciao

January 24, 2015


What are people saying about us?

sandro from puerto viejo

Thank you very much Sylvia for your visit, really nice persons both, it was a very pleasant day by my friends in Pera indigenous community. I hope to see you again here, or , at least , hear from you.
Best wishes. Ciao. Sandro.

January 24, 2015


What are people saying about us?

connihol from washington state

We stayed for over a week. So cool, staying for 6 months soon. Spent a month in CR but loved puerto viejo the best.

November 01, 2014


What are people saying about us?

Paulo Acevedo from San Jose, Costa Rica

I have been on this place every single year I am able to go to Puerto Viejo. Best place ever to stay in the whole country. Great service, great rooms, great staff, great everything!

May 15, 2014


What are people saying about us?

ieva & Marius from Lithuania

Very nice place to stay in Puerto Viejo. Perfect location, super friendly staff, nice rooms and kitchen. Enjoyed every minute of stay here. At least 11 out of 10. Hope to be back soon again.

January 06, 2014


What are people saying about us?

Mauricio Q from San José, C.R.

El fin de semana nos hospedamos en Cabinas Guarana y nos atendieron muy bien, contamos con lo necesario para disfrutar de la zona, la gente en el area de cocina respetan tu espacio, las noches silenciosas, realmente disfrutamos y encantados de regresar. No hace falta la piscina ya que las playas son hermosas y en esta época es full verano!!!

September 16, 2013


What are people saying about us?

Diane Walker from Louisville, KY USA

I found my paradise place in Puerto Viejo: Cabinas Guarana!The place was just what I was looking for; charming,lovely,clean with beautiful gardens and decor. The room had nice little touches that made me extra comfortable. And the staff so kind, friendly and accomodating at every level. I felt so at home there and will definitely return. Thank you for a wonderful stay in Puerto Viejo! Warmest regards and gratitude to all of you!

April 25, 2013


What are people saying about us?

Chantel

My boyfriend and I had a great time at Cabinas Guarana! Friendly staff, great rooms, and great grounds! We used this hotel as our home base throughout our stay in Costa Rica coming back 3 separate times knowing that we would be taken care of! Thank you for a great experience & we hope to come again!!!!

February 12, 2013


What are people saying about us?

fadaya from san jose costa rica

tuve la oportunidad de estar ahi 4 dias y 3 noches, este lugar es maravilloso, se respira una paz increible y el amanecer con el canto de las aves lo hace aun muy especial ahhh y el mirador q hay en la copa de un arbol wuau ¡es fabuloso! realmente regresaria mil veces a puerto viejo.

July 08, 2012


What are people saying about us?

Gabriela Ramírez from Hdia, Costa Rica

Guarana definitivamente es un lugar hermoso, con lindas personas y un trato humano de maravilla, así es como cada vez me enamoro más de Pto. Viejo. Mil gracias a Paolo por su atención y hospitalidad y a Andrea por su buena vibra y calidez como persona. Espero volver muy pronto y pasarla tan a gusto como si fuera mi hogar, el único problema es que no quieres venirte al Valle Central jaja. Gracias y bendiciones para tan lindo lugar.

May 29, 2012


What are people saying about us?

Diego from Escazu, San Jose

Un execelente lugar para ir a pasar un fin de semana o una semana o hasta un solo dia, la atencion es muy buena, las cabinas son muy bonitas y muy bien equipadas y la atencion que dan es igual mente muy buena definitivamente un exelente lugar para hospedarse.

April 16, 2012


What are people saying about us?

marie lalonde from Montreal-canada

I stayed there last june 2011 and we just loved it.very quiet and friendly staff, clean rooms,the owner is always attentive to anything you would need,DEF going back,im actually contacting the owner soon to make new reservations for march !

February 06, 2012


What are people saying about us?

Melon & Guishe from Barcelona

El hotel esta buenisimo! el personal es super amable, nos ayudaron con toda la informacion que necesitamos y mas! los dueños son supersimpaticos, el hambiente muy agradable y tranquilo. esta muy bien ubicado, todo muy limpio, muchas comodidades. Fue muy lindo pasar unos dias aqui donde nos sentimos como en casa. Cualquiera que este buscando un alojamiento en Pto. Viejo TIENE que venir al Guarana!!!!

May 12, 2011


What are people saying about us?

Philip from Illinois

My girlfriend and I decided to get away for our anniversary last year, and after doing some research ended up booking a few days at Cabinas Guarana. The rooms were clean, great location, the staff was incredibly friendly, and in fact, we ended up riding the bus from San Jose to Puerto Viejo with the owner and some of her friends sitting right in front of us! Once we arrived in Puerto Viejo, although it was only a few blocks, our new friends even offered to lend their taxi giving us a ride with our bags. All in all, a good choice at a good price.

January 16, 2011


What are people saying about us?

Ed Griggs from USA

I loved staying at Cabinas Guarana. I stayed for a whole week and was taken care of exquisitely by the all of the staff, especially Alma. I was unwell the first few days(no fault of Cabana Guarana)so I had to lay low at my cabana. Everybody took great care of me and made sure I found a doctor to diagnose my illness. During my convalescence I was able to take pictures of many species of birds on the grounds of Guarana. Paulo, the co-owner of Guarana invited me to visit the building site of his new house near Puerto Viejo where I was able to photograph more birds and other natural history subjects. Cabana Guarana was clean, attractive, well maintained and moderately priced. I stayed at other places in Costa Rica that cost a lot more and were consequently more attractive: but none of those places were as much fun, visitor friendly, warm and and hospitable as Cabinas Guarana.

September 16, 2010


What are people saying about us?

Alan (Ali) from USA, California

Cabinas Guarana is a wonderful place to stay with hot shower in the rooms AND you can DO YOUR OWN COOKING in the kichen with everything available. Super market is only 20 meter away from this Hotel and buy all you want and store it in the refig. Very Nice owner and family owned location, very clean area and rooms with nice and comfortable beds. very private place. This place is quiet with beautiful sounds of roosters all over the twon. and it is very secure. I have stayed here two nights and will visit again.

September 13, 2010


What are people saying about us?

David from H

I have stayed several times at hotel guarana. I live in Costa Rica and travel to Puerto Viejo and then to Bocas Del Toro every 90 days to update my passport. I can tell you that hotel quarana is very clean, safe and very friendly staff. My room was cleaned everyday, clean towels, and linen. I enjoy the patio laying in the hamock, its very peaceful and tranquil. The property is kept very clean. Nice communal kitchen to cook, and best of all a brand new Mega Super grocery store right next to the hotel which is great, no long walk to the store. I highly recommend hotel guarana at very reasonable prices.

David H
Costa Rica

May 24, 2010


What are people saying about us?

Manuelita from Milano
fantastico

Mi sono trovata benissimo all'hotel Guaranà, fantastici Paolo e Giovanna. Verrò ancora a trovarvi

April 06, 2010


What are people saying about us?

Glenn Taki from Honolulu, Hi
Wonderful place to stay!!

Cabinas Guarana is a wonderful place to stay. Nice, clean, spacious rooms, with comfortable beds, privacy, and even a comfortable hammock on your own private lanai. This place is quiet, and secure. We have stayed here on two consecutive visits over the past 10 months. The owner's (Paulo, and Giovana) are great people. Very friendly, and helpful. The staff are equally friendly, knowledgeable, and always happy to assist with reservations, recommendations, information, and even translation. Cabinas Guarana is a great value, and has become my home away from home in PV!

May 28, 2009


What are people saying about us?

Dan Kenny from Ottawa

I've been staying at the Guaranas almost every year over the past 6 years. Its charm, cleaniness, and security provide a relaxed atmosphere. The staff are extremely hospitable and helpful. I don't consider anywhere else when coming to PV.

February 05, 2009


What are people saying about us?

margo Wilkinson from austin texas
Cabinas Guarana

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August and had a great time! The owners are more than helpful and are always smiling! The rooms are open and large and so is the bathroom with a big shower! The porch is surrounded by plants and there is a hammock and a comfortable chair on it! The kitchen in the hotel is for everyones use and they even have coffee set up really early, which I loved....I get up at 6:00! It is right down the street from Bread and Chocolate.....yummy!!!!!!! The beach is a 5 minute walk. Try the little soda next to the dive shop too......great view and nice ladies that run it! . It is ALL GOOD in Puerto Viejo! You feel at home there!!!!!

October 06, 2008

Add Your Own Comments to the Guestbook

Stayed at Guarana? Leave your own comment